Annual Youth Ventures Awards 2019

youth ventures

Over its 27 years of operation, Youth Ventures has helped over 7000 entrepreneurs start 4600 businesses by providing advice on idea development, marketing direction, financial advice, and more. Held at the St. John’s Farmers’ Market, the awards are dedicated to the success of Youth Ventures participants, mentors, and coordinators while highlighting opportunities for entrepreneurship in Newfoundland and Labrador. Hosted by CBDC, presenters like Project Coordinator Robyn Evans, MC Don-E Coady, and St. John’s Mayor Danny Breen Presented awards for outstanding performance for 16 young entrepreneurs from all across Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Excellence in Customer Service award was given to sisters Cora and Devyn Hogg for Cakes by Two Peas in a Pod from Grand Falls-Windsor, a baking team that creates custom cupcakes and cakes.

The Excellence in Arts and Tourism is sibling duo Shana and Dillon Brown, hailing from Whiteway with Shillon Music, a folk band that has played in several folk festivals across Eastern Newfoundland.

The award for Outstanding Venture (17 years and under) goes to Anna, Ashlee, and Jack Hickman for The Dawg House, a hotdog booth that comes from Fortune and has been featured on the fifth season of Still Standing.

Trailblazer of the Year goes to Alyssa Barrett from Old Perlican, for Candy Treasures by Alyssa, who offers candy apples, cotton candy, and custom candy bouquets for any occasion.

Excellence in Marketing was awarded to Brady Huxter for his wedding photography service e-Motion Video, operating out of St. John’s

The award for Excellence in Financial Management goes to family team Micah, Jonathan, and Janelle Sacrey for 3D Portrait Prints from Stephenville, who offer a wide selection of crafts like lithophanes, toys, key chains, and more.

The Venture of the Year award went to Matthew Lawrence of Conception Bay South for his business TutorNL, which offers tutoring services to highschool and post-secondary education students.

Other awards included Mentor of the Year, awarded to Morgan Kelly with the Association for New Canadians, and Star Coordinator Kristen Murray of Metro Business Opportunities.

The Muse congratulates all award recipients and wishes them the very best in their future endeavours.